FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

North Carolina A&T State University Academic Classroom Building (A101) Tuesday, August 23, 2016 3:00 p.m.

Dr. Tony Graham, Chair Presiding

Senate Members Present: Geleana Alston, Barbara Butler, Temeka Carter, Devona Dixon, Angel Dowden, Chastity English, Albert Esterline, Yemande Fasina, Dwedor Ford, Roger Gagnon, Tony Graham, Julius Harp, Gwendolyn Highsmith-Quick, Alvin Keyes, John Kizito, Luba Kurkalova, Gary Lebby, Z Li, Patrick Martin, Ahmed Megri, Mahour Mellat Parast, Gregory Meyerson, Thomas Redd, Derick Smith, Octavious Spruill, George Stone, David Tidwell, Sheila Whitley.

Departments Not Represented: Natural Resources and Environmental Design; Business Education; Management; Chemical, Biological and Bioengineering; Computational Science and Engineering; Administration and Instructional Services; Social Work and Sociology; Nursing; History; Graphic Design Technology; Energy and Environmental Systems; Computer Systems Technology; Physics; Nanoengineering.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Tony Graham.

Roll Call

Approval of Minutes

It was properly moved and seconded to approve the April 26, 2016 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes with the following statement included in the minutes: The Faculty Welfare Committee report was not presented due to time constraint. The motion carried.

Senate Welcome Dr. Tony Graham

Dr. Graham extended greetings and a welcome to a new A&T 'post reorganization' year. Additionally, Dr. Graham thanked everyone for their presence.

Post-Restructuring Effect on Senate

Dr. Tony Graham

A draft list of a proposed senate membership roster based on the University's reorganization was shared with senators. Senators were asked to review the list as college senate elections, 2016 are pending. Upon discussion, it was agreed that senators would either 'live-out' their two-year term(s) or start new term(s) because of restructuring. Terms will be vacated or modified depending on the college. All departments have been notified to hold elections for a senate representative and an alternate no later than September 16, 2016. Also, college deans have been asked to select a nominee for the Faculty Hearing and Reconsideration Committee as well as the Faculty Grievance Committee. All names are to be forwarded to the Senate Office by September 20th.

Nomination Committee Charge

Dr. Tony Graham

Dr. Graham reviewed the Nomination Committee Charge. He noted that Dr. Julius Harp and Dr. Gary Lebby, Co-Chairs, are developing a process for nominations. Nominations should occur by the September 2016 senate meeting. He asked for a volunteer from each college to serve on the Nomination Committee. The following senators agreed to be added to this Committee: Education-Dr. Angel Dowden; Agriculture-Dr. Louis Jackai; Business and Economics-Dr. George Stone; Health and Human Sciences-Dr. Bonnie Fields; Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences-Dr. Galen Foresman; Graduate School-Dr. Roger Gagnon.

Importance of the New Programs and Curricula Committee (NPC), the Faculty Welfare Committee and the Faculty Handbook Committee Dr. Tony Graham

Dr. Graham noted the on-going work of these three (3) committees post University reorganization. The NPC Committee needs a Chair due to Dr. Sheila Whitley's administrative appointment. Her last senate meeting will be September 2016; the Welfare Committee is continuing movement on faculty issues; and the Handbook Committee is charged with making a report at the September Senate meeting on the status of the Handbook re-write. By the end of the semester a draft copy of the Handbook needs to be in the Provost's Office. Dr. Craig Rhodes of the Provost's Office will attend the Handbook Committee meetings.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:04 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: September 27, 2016 at 3:00 p.m. in Academic Classroom Building (A101)

Nina R. Ingram Recorder